FANDOM


Converting an AlterEdit

I think this section could use some work.

"The PC can convert an altar by sacrificing a creature the altar's god doesn't want them to sacrifice, e. g. a neutral creature on a neutral altar."

True, although I don't think it matters what alignment the PC is in this case.

"Note that there are claims that you can sacrifice any creatures suitable to your own alignment to convert the altar,"

What does it mean to be "suitable" to an alignment?

"but there is evidence that this only applies if the altar's deity would otherwise object"

Huh?

"For example, sacrificing a chaos aligned creature on a chaos altar while the PC is neutral only boosts chaos piety, potentially converting the PC, rather than the altar."

Isn't this the case for sacrificing any alignment creature, since C deity will accept all sacrifices?

"In general, assume that sacrificing lawful creatures is considered neutral or chaotic, neutral creatures is considered lawful or chaotic, and chaos creatures is all three."

Well, killing lawful creatures counts as a chaotic act, but you can still convert an altar from N to L by sacrificing a lawful creature. Anyway, I don't see how this advice is helpful.

The gist of this section is that the alignment of a creature you sacrifice matters outside of the obvious cases (N creature on N altar, L creature on L altar), but it doesn't communicate this in any coherent way.Yulgash (talk) 19:03, October 7, 2016 (UTC)

maybe we could use guidebook table (probab ly with some reformating)? http://www.adomgb.info/adomgb-0-2.html

I think in short if pc and altar of the same alignment, the only possible conversion is if monster is only of the same allignment, in which case altar allignent might drop (sucks for C since they are not dropping anywhere).

If PC and altar are crossaligned altar has a chance move towards PC allignment.

("For example, sacrificing a chaos aligned creature on a chaos altar while the PC is neutral only boosts chaos piety, potentially converting the PC, rather than the altar." is actually straight wrong).

The tricky part is if PC and monster are of same allignment which differs from altar (think L char, random dwarf, neutral altar or N char, N monster, L altar). Chaotic chars are not moving anywhere, but the mentioned cases I am not so sure.

(you should think about when creature allignment matters simply - whether creature type meshes with gods involved (the one who owns altar or the one PC worships, with emphasis being on worshipped god since he is the one more likely to accept the offering)).

Soirana (talk) 06:55, October 8, 2016 (UTC)....................

The case of L character sacrificing L creature at C or N altar was interesting. You initially get the message about sacrificing creatures of god's alignment (despite the fact that altar is not L), but it is still possible to move the alignment of the altar from C to N and from N to L with such a sacrifice. Doing this doesn't seem to piss off the L god. Yulgash (talk) 07:21, October 8, 2016 (UTC)

Well, the first time you sack co-aligned monster (like N char, altar and monster) you get warning and then the sac goes through without consequences. It's further cases which might be problem. I'll update the wiki once I have time to check stuff properly.Soirana (talk) 08:35, October 8, 2016 (UTC)

  • Did some more testing of this. Although you get the co-aligned sacrifice warning when sacrificing L creature on N/C altar while L (or N creature on C/L altar while N) the first time, subsequent attempts work, and there are no further warnings. For instance, you can flip an altar between N and L as many times as you want by sacrificing lawful monsters, so long as you maintain lawful alignment. Yulgash (talk) 00:00, November 30, 2016 (UTC)
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.